Approved: November 19, 1976
Revised: January 23, 2015

Revised April 24, 2018


The following statements of purposes, function, and structure should be interpreted in conjunction with the provisions of the Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland
(PSSAM) relating to the operation of the Maryland Negotiation Service (MNS).


A.  The MNS shall serve as an Advisory Council reporting to the Superintendent of Schools on collective bargaining issues primarily involving the Local Educational Agencies (LEA's) but not excluding the involvement of other agencies.

B. The Council shall provide a standard channel for contact and communication and mutual assistance among the LEA's on all relevant collective bargaining issues.

C. The Council shall provide an open forum for the discussion of concerns, issues, crisis, and problems which are of mutual interest.

D. The Council shall review and evaluate projects carried out upon its recommendations.

E. The Council shall provide a medium for dissemination to LEA's of information about collective bargaining, legislative activities, as well as information from the Public-School Superintendents Association of Maryland (PSSAM).

F. The representatives and the coordinated planning for the Council, as well as recommendations which would be obtained, should give support and strengthen programs and projects pursued which might otherwise falter.


A. The Council

1.  All Counties and Baltimore City of Maryland are eligible to be regular member agencies of this Council.

2.  Each LEA member shall have one vote. A representative and an alternate will be appointed by each local Superintendents of Schools.

3.  Decisions on recommendations to the Superintendents shall be by majority vote of those participating in the deliberations of the Council.

B. The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall be comprised of the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer, five (5) representatives from the Council (one from each of the five (5) regions listed below) and a liaison member appointed by the Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland (PSSAM).

Region 1 -
Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico, Worcester

Region 2 - Caroline,
Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne's, Talbot
Region 3 - Baltimore
City, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Howard

Region 4 - Anne Arundel,
Calvert, Charles, Prince Georges, St. Mary’s

Region 5 - Allegany,
Frederick, Garrett, Montgomery, Washington

The five (5) representatives are to be nominated by the regions. The Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer shall be nominated by a nominating committee appointed by the Chairperson. This committee shall report a slate of candidates for the Executive Committee by February 15 each year. All members of the Executive Committee shall be elected by the majority vote by the Council during the month of March, with the exception of the Past Chairperson. The Past Chairperson position requires no appointment and is selected based on having fulfilled their term as Chairperson from the previous year.  The five (5) regional representatives shall serve for two (2) years. The five (5) representatives shall not automatically succeed themselves.

The Executive Committee shall act on the Council's behalf between Council sessions to coordinate projects, communicate with members, and arrange agendas, call meetings, make presentations regarding recommendations, deliberate on policies, procedures, potential projects, and evaluations.

Vacancies on the Executive Committee may be filled for the unexpired terms by a majority vote of remaining members of the Executive Committee, with the exception of the Past Chairperson member.

C. Officers

Chairperson - The Chairperson shall preside at all meetings of the Council and of the Executive Committee at which the Chairperson is in attendance. The Chairperson shall ensure that Council meetings are scheduled with notification to members at least one (1) week in advance of such meetings.

The Chairperson shall have power to appoint deliberative and reporting subcommittees of attendees at Council meetings.

The term of Chairperson shall be one (1) year. The Chairperson may not serve more than two (2) consecutive one (1) year terms.

Upon completion of the term as Chairperson, this person shall hold the office of Past Chairperson for one (1) year.

Vice Chairperson - The Vice Chairperson shall serve as Chairperson if he/she is absent for meetings. The term of the Vice Chairperson shall be one (1) year.

Secretary - The Secretary shall provide support to the Council and to the Executive Committee.

Treasurer - The Treasurer shall receive all moneys and disburse all payments in accordance with actions of the
Executive Committee.

Past Chairperson - The past chairperson shall advise and assist the Chairperson, and shall have such other duties as the Chairperson assigns.


A. Regular meetings shall be scheduled, published, and convene at a location established by the Executive Committee.

B. Items for consideration for the agenda should be submitted to the Chairperson at least two (2) weeks before the meeting so that items requiring action by the Executive Committee can be handled in a timely manner.


A.  MNS recognizes the value of professional organizations in keeping up to date on the latest trends and issues in education negotiations.  As a result, MNS shall pay for one (1) individual membership for an approved organization per LEA each year as part of its annual budget process.  The selected organization shall be vetted by MNS members then approved by the Executive Committee.

B.  MNS will pay for registration and attendance of the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson to attend the approved national conference.  The Executive Committee may, at its discretion, substitute another Executive Committee member in the event that either the Chairperson and/or Vice Chairperson are unable to attend the national conference.


These governing procedures may be amended by a two-thirds (2/3) majority vote of the LEA membership in the Council at a regular meeting after a thirty (30) day written notification of the recommended change to its membership.